You are here: Language Travel Guide : Official language exams : Italian : CILS


CILS (Certification of Italian as a foreign language)


The University for Foreigners of Siena issues the CILS (Certification of Italian as a foreign language) certification, which is recognised by the Italan State in accordance with a framework convention with the Minister of Foreign Affairs. the CILS is the official diploma which shows the degree of ability to communicate in Italian as a foreign language.

Who is the CILS aimed at ?
  • At those studying Italian
  • At those who work and study in contact with Italian reality
  • At those who wish to simply evaluate their own abilities in Italian
Each CILS level accounts for the ability to communicate in different situations and contexts.

What does the CILS consist of ?

The CILS is divided into six dfferent levels, corresponding exactly to the levels of the Common European Framework of Reference for Language:

Level A1
Level A2
Level UNO-B1
Level DUE-B2
Level TRE-C1

In a progressive way, they vouch for your linguistic and communication abilites. Each level is autonomous and complete. Its certificate vouches for a specific degree of preparation particular to different social, professional and study contexts.
In order to obtain the certificate of one of the six levels, it is necessary to pass an exam made up of five parts: listening comprehension, reading comprehension, analysis of communication structures, written production and oral production.

All of the exams are produced and evaluated by the certification centre of the University for Foreigners of SIena on the basis of the European parameters set out in the documents of the Council of Europe. The CILS exams issued by the University for Foreigners of Siena enjoy an excellent reputation worldwide.

For further information on the exams and the dates of these, please refer to the official website of the University for Foreigners of Siena.